Navigation Top
AGO Logo Graphic
AGO Header Image
File a Complaint
Contact the AGO
May 03, 2012
Media Advisory: Gregoire and McKenna honor fallen heroes Friday

OLYMPIA…The Washington state Law Enforcement Medal of Honor/Peace Officers Memorial ceremony will be held in Olympia on Friday. 

Governor Chris Gregoire and Attorney General Rob McKenna will award law enforcement officers with Washington state’s highest law enforcement award: The Medal of Honor. The medal is given to officers who made the ultimate sacrifice or have displayed exceptionally meritorious conduct. 

The ceremony will also recognize three officers who died in the line of duty over the last year.

• When:   1 p.m. Friday May 4, 2011

• Where:   Law Enforcement Memorial on the Capitol Campus in Olympia

 Details:  The ceremony is open to the public but space is limited. TVW will air its coverage of the ceremony starting at 11 a.m. on Tuesday, May 10.

Recipients of the Medal of Honor for Posthumous Service

• Officer Jayme L. Biendl, Department of Corrections: Officer Biendl was killed by an inmate at the Washington State Reformatory Unit at the Monroe Correctional Complex on Jan. 29, 2011.

• Trooper Tony V. Radulescu, Washington State Patrol: Trooper Radulescu was shot and killed by the driver of a suspect vehicle during a traffic stop on Feb. 23, 2012, in Kitsap County.

Recipients of the Medal of Honor for Serious Injury

• Deputies Andrew Ejde and John Stacy, Kitsap County Sheriff’s Office: Deputies Ejde and Stacy were seriously injured while responding to a suspicious acting suspect who was reportedly armed and travelling with a female juvenile at a Walmart store in January 2011. Both were in foot pursuit and continued even when being fired upon.

Recipients of the Medal of Honor for Meritorius Conduct

• Deputy Krista McDonald, Kitsap County Sheriff’s Office: Deputy McDonald joined Deputies Ejde and Stacy in responding to the Walmart incident, advanced and fired upon the suspect drawing fire towards her and wounding the suspect. She continued to secure the suspect and aid the female juvenile as the suspect shot the girl and then himself.

• Corporal Christian Munoz and Officers Laura Asbell, Brian Horn and Jesse Petersen, Issaquah Police Department: The Issaquah Police Department responded to a report of a heavily armed gunman and active shooter at Clark Elementary School on Sept. 24, 2011. Corporal Munoz and Officers Asbell, Horn and Petersen actively engaged in gunfire with the shooter for roughly 12 minutes until the officers were able to stop the suspect. He was pronounced dead shortly thereafter.

Line of Duty Death Recognition

• Deputy Shandon Wright: Deputy Wright passed away March 3, 2011, while recovering from surgery related to an on-duty injury. Deputy Wright had dislocated his shoulder while attempting to arrest a violent offender.
• Ranger Margaret A. Anderson: Ranger Margaret Anderson was shot and killed on January 1, 2012, while attempting to stop a fleeing suspect near the Longmire Ranger Station in Mount Rainier National Park.
• Trooper Tony V. Radulescu: Trooper Radulescu was shot and killed by the driver of a suspect vehicle during a traffic stop on Feb. 23, 2012, in Kitsap County.

Addition information:

–30 –

Contacts: Janelle Guthrie, APR, Deputy Chief of Staff/Communications Director, (360) 586-0725


Content Bottom Graphic
AGO Logo